|1 capsule provide:||Claim||% EU NRV|
|1 capsule provide:||Claim||% EU NRV|
|Energy, fat, protein, carbohydrate||Negligible|
How we make our Vegan Vitamin D
The main difference between our Vegan Vitamin D providing 1000iu/25mcg and our best selling Vitamin D is its source; our certified Vegan Vitamin D is sustainably derived from food grade algae, using a sustainable process that ensures full control of quality and purity. This unique process involves algae and UVB light to create a rich source of Vitamin D (25 (OH) Vitamin D). The oil is then removed from the algae using super-critical CO2 extraction. The Vitamin D3 (25 OH Vitamin D) is then isolated from the algae oil.
What is Super-Critical Extraction?
Super-Critical Extraction uses carbon dioxide (CO2) to extract oil from botanical plant material because it yields safer, cleaner and purer oil. It is a very versatile and highly effective method of reducing wastage. The CO2 removes the oil as it passes through the plant, leaving it intact. Remarkably, the plant material will look the same after extraction as before except it no longer contains the oil.
Our Vegan Vitamin D is certified by the vegan society. It is also non-GMO, Kosher and Halal certified.
Our ingredients are responsibly and sustainably harvested with full traceability across the supply chain.
- Ingredients: Plant-sourced Vitamin D3V®, Brown Rice Powder, Vegetable Cellulose (capsule shell).
- Free from:Excipients, wheat, gluten-containing ingredients, soya, milk products, artificial colours, flavourings & preservatives.
- Cautionary advice: If you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication or under medical supervision, please consult your healthcare practitioner before taking any food supplement. Store in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight. Keep out of reach of children. Food supplements are not to be used as a substitute for a varied, balanced diet and healthy lifestyle.
Frequently Asked Questions
Both the vegan and non Vegan vitamin D's in our range, are in the form of D3 (the same form your body produces from exposure to sunlight). The Food-Grown Vitamin D is in the 'active' form of D3 - scientifically referred to as 1-25-hydroxycholecalciferol. While the Vegan version is in the stored form of D3 - scientifically referred to as 25-hydroxycholecalciferol. Both are beneficial and work well.
Yes, absolutely you can. Between October and March, it's officially recommended to supplement extra so we recommend combining those two products. This may also apply to summer time if you are consistently indoors.
Yes absolutely. 1,000 iu (or 25ug) is not high dose and is no where near a toxic dose level (which into the tens of thousands taken long term). Most people across the UK are low unless they have good access to sunlight or supplement. Low levels are implicated in unwanted symptoms, poor health and disease. Some people may need to take more than 1,000 iu but you can check with our Technical Nutrition team.
It's officially recommended to supplement extra vitamin D between October and March. You can combine our Vegan Vitamin D alongside any of our products, including our Daily Multis and Balance Multi Nutrient. If you are unwell, pregnant/breast-feeding, staying indoors for extended periods of time, are elderly or have dark skin – you will need to supplement extra vitamin D all year around.
No - only 10 % of your vitamin D intake comes from food. The rest we have to obtain from sunlight and supplementation. If you don't eat animal produce/by products (meat, oily fish, dairy, eggs) then you won't be getting any vitamin D via food.
Public Health England has announced that they now recommend people take vitamin D during spring and summer. Normally they recommend only supplementing between October and March unless you are considered a risk category such as in pregnancy or old age. Supplementation is now recommended for all, in the warmer months, due to the lockdown.